Day 1: Do a Commenting Self-Audit

One of the goals of the 31 Day Comment Challenge is for us to improve our commenting skills and draw more people into blog conversations. So to kick off the 31 days of activities we’re going to start with a commenting self-audit. You can use this to get a better picture of your blog commenting skills and strategies.

For this activity, do the following:

1. Answer the following questions:

  • How often do you comment on other blogs during a typical week? When I go through my Bloglines feeds I usually comment on half of the the blogs I read. I also comment on my partner teacher’s students blogs once a week.
  • Do you track your blog comments? How? What do you do with your tracking? I track blog comments that I make on other wordpress blogs. My blog keeps tracks of these for me.
  • Do you tend to comment at the same blogs or do you try to comment on at least one new blog per week? I comment on many of the same blogs but I also try to comment on new blogs I’m reading.

2. Now review Gina Trapani’s Guide to Blog Comments and ask yourself how well you’re doing in each of the different areas. Are there any specific areas where you think you need to do some work? What do you want to do to address these issues?
I’d like to leave more informative and interesting comments. I do read any other comments that have been made and try not to be redundant

Whew, I’ve made it through day one of the challenge. I want to keep up with the daily activities and not let the challenge down. I hope I’ll be able to do it. I wonder if you can double up if you miss a day? I also look forward to getting to know other bloggers in the challenge.

